Whole Grains Inspiration

Magazines

As you can see, in my office lays a pile that holds many months of industry magazines. At one time or another, I breezed through them all but I definitely haven’t read them cover-to cover. The reason is that just like many of you, I’m way too busy. Last week though, it was a little different. I found some time to clean out my pile.  But instead, I went to the bottom of the pile and pulled one out. I noticed that it was marked January 2012, when I started to take a gander. About halfway through it,  there was a piece called “No Meat Required”  written by Tara FitzpatrickSome very creative ideas were shared but what caught my eye was a recipe for Vegetarian Meatballs, using Greenwheat Freekeh. The first thing I said (out loud of course)  was… “I bet that taste’s good!” Food Management Mag

Just a few minutes later I was in our dry goods storeroom and walked down the “Whole Grains aisle” as we like to call it. I found a surplus of Charcoal Wheat that was just begging to be cooked right, so into the kitchen I went. It was time to bang out some Vegetarian Meatballs of my own, using Charcoal Wheat. Using the Freekeh recipe as my inspiration,  we made a dish that I was extremely excited about and was eager to promote.

These Vegetarian Meatballs made with Charcoal Wheat were a big hit, as we turned dozens of people onto a new product that they may have been skeptical to try in the past. They were baked and served over whole wheat penne pasta with a simple Marinara sauce and grated Parmesan cheese. If I would have only read this magazine back in January 2012, I may have been able to craft these sooner,  but oh well, better late than never.  A big shout out goes to the Chef’s from Indian Harvest for giving me the inspiration for these meatballs. Because of their inspiration, 43 people in Raleigh, NC tried something completely new for lunch!

Charcoal Wheat

Additionally, I hope that I may have inspired anyone who reads this blog,  to read through the pile on the edge of your desk as well, you might get inspired!

Chef Ryan

About Chef Ryan CEC

I'm the Executive Chef for Rex Healthcare's Culinary & Nutritional Services team in Raleigh, NC. We are doing some amazing things. We are changing the perception of "Hospital Food"- one meal at a time.
This entry was posted in food, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.