The Two Types Of People Who Work In The Kitchen

Just the other day, a good friend and former colleague of mine made a Facebook post about a saying that I used to say often while working with him in the kitchens in New York. I’ve said it for years now, and it still holds true in my opinion.

“There are only two types of people who work in a professional kitchen, those who fix the plastic wrap, and those who use it, and leave it for someone else to fix.”         – Chef Ryan Conklin CEC

I know that it sounds very basic, but the roots go down deep with this one. I can tell a good deal about someone’s character when I see how they leave the plastic wrap for others to use.  It only takes a minute to fix, but you will  save your teammate so much frustration when you do so. If you’ve never worked in the kitchen,  this may not make much sense to you. However, the rest of you know exactly what I’m talking about. In my experience I’ve found that for the many of us who take the time to fix it, we usually have traits such as, pride, passion, responsiblity, and are team oriented. For those of you that just continue to use it without fixing it, character traits tend to be quite opposite such as lazy, careless, and disorganized. So here is my question – which one are you?

plastic wrap

About Chef Ryan CEC

I'm the Executive Chef for Rex Healthcare's Culinary & Nutritional Services team in Raleigh, NC. We are doing some amazing things. We are changing the perception of "Hospital Food"- one meal at a time.
This entry was posted in food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.