Unsung Heroes

My first job in a professional kitchen wasn’t too glamorous. I definitely wasn’t hand trimming beef tenderloin, chopping fresh herbs, or making a port wine porcini mushroom sauce. As a matter in fact, I never even handled a knife. One thing is for sure, I was going home every night extremely exhausted, feet  soaking wet from mopping floors, and my clothes smelling like garbage. At the time, it was all I knew and It was my job. But I did have an extremely important role, I was a potwasher.

After many years of working in multiple kitchens, one thing is for sure, I had never forgotton my two years washing endless pots, mopping floors, cleaning dining rooms, and changing garbage. I never forgot that time in my life, and along the way I’ve always gotten to know the potwashers in all kitchens I’ve worked in on a personal level. I’ve never lost respect for what they do. After all, they are Unsung Heroes. They are the ones that are in the kitchen still working after the chefs have gone home and have taken a shower. They are the ones who are asked to clean up the grease spill, haul heavy items throughout the kitchen, and breakdown countless cardboard boxes. You see, one can never really understand how important  somebody elses job is unless they have done the task themselves. I’ve seen too many chefs, restauranteurs, and directors take them for granted.

As an industry, we must never forget these members of the team, although they are not in the limelight often, they are the Unsung Heroes daily!  I’m thankful for the crew we have at Rex.

So here is your challenge…..  I highly encourage everyone who reads this blog to make sure  that you take the time to thank some of the Unsung Heroes on your team!

About Chef Ryan CEC

I'm the Executive Chef for Rex Healthcare's Culinary & Nutritional Services team in Raleigh, NC. We are doing some amazing things. We are changing the perception of "Hospital Food"- one meal at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.