The Devil is in the Details

“The Devil is in The Details”- The way I basically  come to translate this is… even the grandest project depends on the success of the smaller components.

The first time I heard this phrase, it was back  in 2008 from my former manager Ryan Miller who is an Associate Director  for UNC Healthcare’s dynamic and progressive culinary program in Chapel Hill.  He was pointing out some things that were lacking one day in the café, specifically- proper signage at the soup station. Little did Mr. Miller know,  this phrase, then new to me (but has been around for generations) would be something I know  and say throughout my day….often.

When you are in the game of trying to be the best, It’s all about the details. The little things that may seem so simple at times can be the key ingredient needed in your recipe for success. The importance of specific details varies amongst  operations. For instance, when I take my truck for an oil change, I have a specific place I go to.  They have Wi-Fi access, a computer workstation for use, complimentary coffee, and I also get a free car wash included in the deal. That pretty much seals the deal for me, and keeps me coming back because of the convenience, and the attention to some of these details.

   Currently we strive to capture as many opportunities  as possible to focus on the details. Our room service attendants offer freshly cracked pepper on top of salads of our patients, and provide carnations at least  once a week as a gift from the Culinary  &  Nutrition team.

 They may seem simple, but in our industry, we need to constantly implement new ideas to keep ahead of the pack. Sometimes it can be simple things like serving steak sauce when your serve steak, or having chopsticks available with sushi – the list is endless. But one thing’s for sure, when those small details are missed, you are missing oppurtunities to achieve excellence. Besides that, the devil might actually  peak his head out.

 

 

About Chef Ryan CEC

I'm the Executive Chef for Rex Healthcare's Culinary & Nutritional Services team in Raleigh, NC. We are doing some amazing things. We are changing the perception of "Hospital Food"- one meal at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.